The Hunger Games

30 Mar

    I saw The Hunger Games last night. Having heard that the movie didn’t provide adequate background on the story, I was curious to see just how much of Suzanne Collins’ dystopia did make it to the screen. On the whole, I was impressed. A few titles at the beginning, the video at the reaping, seemed to me to get the idea across pretty well, without interrupting the narrative flow. It also seemed to me that the sets, locations and costumes did a good job of carrying the story (where did they get those wonderful faces for the citizens of DIstrict 12?).  

     On the other hand, I’ve read the book. So, my question is, did the script do what it needed to do in terms of putting the audience int he world of the story, or not? And if not, what was missing, and what might have been done differently?

    Just asking.

One Response to “The Hunger Games”

  1. countrymarketcooking March 31, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    I watched the movie on Friday and while it was very enjoyable, I felt the main thing that didn’t come across was how ominous The Capitol thugs were. They kind of came across as incompetent and silly. But in the book they were much more malicious and deadly. Still worth watching, though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

